Webhosting in Pakistan
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: black screen with a white blinking line-cursor

  1. #1
    atif623's Avatar
    atif623 is offline Senior Member+
    Last Online
    14th February 2017 @ 09:31 PM
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2008
    Location
    Lahore
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    398
    Threads
    64
    Credits
    745
    Thanked
    5

    Unhappy black screen with a white blinking line-cursor

    Webhosting in Pakistan
    when i turn the computer on all i get is a black screen with a white blinking line in the corner. even if i press f8 while you're booting, it still does the same thing. it looks like a dos prompt but i can't type any thing....does anyone know anything about this? any suggestions much appreciated
    • I boot the computer and get the BIOS loading screen. From here I can go into the BIOS settings or go to a BIOS boot menu (HDD, CD, network boot...).
    • If I don't do any of those, the loading screen finishes and at the point where I would normally see a Windows XP screen, I get nothing. Just a completely blank screen with a blinking cursor in the very top left corner.
    • From here my only option is to CTRL+ALT+DEL and reboot, but I can never get past the blank screen.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    22 Oct 2009
    Location
    ~*Dream*World*~
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    21,935
    Threads
    299
    Credits
    1,125
    Thanked
    1701

    Default

    I think it is your hard-disk problem.
    ~* W@R T!ll D3@t|-| *~
    ~* I'll Win Not Immediately But Definitely *~

  3. #3
    IT.BOY's Avatar
    IT.BOY is offline Senior Member
    Last Online
    17th November 2017 @ 11:13 AM
    Join Date
    26 Dec 2007
    Location
    *MAA KI AGOOSH*
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    28,374
    Threads
    651
    Credits
    764
    Thanked
    3079

    Default

    bios ko default kar key phir try kro dost.ok
    [FONT="Jameel Noori Nastaleeq"][CENTER][COLOR="Blue"][SIZE="5"][B]Coming Soon...:)[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/CENTER][/FONT]

  4. #4
    xauyala's Avatar
    xauyala is offline Senior Member+
    Last Online
    28th December 2012 @ 03:25 PM
    Join Date
    13 Feb 2009
    Posts
    501
    Threads
    31
    Credits
    842
    Thanked
    45

    Default

    Does the windows always behave the same or sometime it goes normal?
    Actually a couple of month ago, I had the problem some thing like this and it'd been diagnosed memory problem. I can't be sure if it is the same case.
    I would suggest you to make some hardware test, if you have enough knowledge to it or take your machine to some professional.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    27
    Posts
    136
    Threads
    3
    Thanked
    11

    Default

    Webhosting in Pakistan
    1..Set ur Jumper to Master of ur first bootable drive...
    2..If u have 2 hards, plug out secondry hard and then try..
    3..or last effort is that ,,u repair ur windows..

Similar Threads

  1. [Help] Black-Screen with White-Dash Blinking
    By the bot in forum Ask an Expert
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th September 2014, 06:14 PM
  2. Solved black screen with blinking cursor problem
    By pekhoo in forum Solved Problems (IT)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12th June 2014, 05:39 PM
  3. the box with cursor blinking
    By sheikh usman in forum Ask an Expert
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th January 2013, 04:54 PM
  4. Answered the black screen with the white progress bar across the bottom
    By aleeeee in forum Solved Problems (IT)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 9th January 2013, 09:05 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th January 2013, 03:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •